

2021 LEGAL WALES CONFERENCE

8 October 2021







10.30	Introduction and Welcome	10.45
	Keith Bush QC (Honoris Causa) (Conference Director)	
	Emma Waddingham (Conference Host)	
	Huw Williams (Chair, Legal Wales Foundation)	
10.45	Opening Keynote Address	11.25
	Justice for Wales: Building a Consensus for Change	
	Mick Antoniw MS (Counsel General and Minister for the Constitution)	
	Introduced by Huw Williams (Chair, Legal Wales Foundation)	
11.25	Plenary	11.55
	The Solicitors' Regulation Authority and Wales	
	Liz Withers (SRA Head of Welsh Affairs)	
	Chair: Byron Jones (Head of Department of Professional Legal Studies, Cardiff University)	
11.55	Interval	12.10

DRAFT: SUBJECT TO REVISION

	Breakouts			
	A Session Host: Dr Huw Pritchard	B Session Host: Emma Waddingham	C Session Host Josie Hebestreit	
12.10	Bangor School of History, Law and Social Sciences The Constitutional Commission for Wales: Engaging Diverse Communities with Welsh Law and Justice Dr Sarah Nason Dr Craig Prescott Prof Stefan Machura (Bangor University)	Swansea University Developments in LegalTech in the Profession and Government Greg Chambers (Office of the Legislative Counsel, Welsh Government) Dr Adam Wyner (Associate Professor of Law and Computer Science, Swansea University)	Welsh Legal History Society Cows, Causation and Compensation in the Native Laws of Wales Prof Thomas Glyn Watkin	13.00
13.00	Interval			13.30
	Breakouts			
	A Session Host: Dr Huw Pritchard	B Session Host: Emma Waddingham	C Session Host Josie Hebestreit	
13.30	Public Law Wales Holding the Police to Account Corey Stoughton (Former Advocacy Director, Liberty) Craig Court (Harding Evans) Lucy O'Brien (Watkins & Gunn) Chair: David Gordon Hughes (30 Park Place, Cardiff)	Wales Commercial Law Association Public Inquiries and Judicial Review – What happens next? Lee Fisher Joanne Thompson Sarah Whittle (Blake Morgan LLP)	(In Welsh with simultaneous interpretation) Solicitor to the New Jerusalem – Lloyd George and the Proposed Jewish Settlement in East Africa Keith Bush QC (Honoris Causa) (Fellow in Welsh Law, Wales Governance Centre, Cardiff University)	14.20

DRAFT: SUBJECT TO REVISION

		•
14.20	Interval	14.30
14.30	Keynote Address	15.00
	The Rt Hon Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Ministry of Justice)	
	Introduced by Sir Simon Picken (Senior Presiding Judge of the Wales Circuit)	
15.00	Plenary	15.35
	Law Reform in Wales: Past, Present	
	and Future	
	The Rt Hon Sir Nicholas Green (Chair of the Law Commission of England and Wales)	
	Nicholas Paines QC (Law Commissioner for Public Law and the Law in Wales)	
15.35	Closing Keynote	15.55
	The Rt Hon Lord Burnett of Maldon (Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales)	
	Introduced by Dame Nerys Jefford (Presiding Judge of the Wales Circuit)	
15.55	Presentation to the winners of the Sir Samuel Evans Award	16.05
	for 2020 and 2021	
16.05	Thanks	16.15
	The Rt Hon Dame Nicola Davies (Lady Justice of Appeal)	
	Introduced by Huw Williams (Chair, Legal Wales Foundation)	